Was Honked At Today And Am Glad

Was honked at on the drive home today.

When I looked over, a Ukrainian man smiled and gave me the thumbs up.

Was trying to figure out why… no bumper stickers on my car, wasn’t driving particularly well… was he able to tell from my diplomatic plates that I was American?

At the next stoplight, he got out, ran over, gave me a Euromaidan/Ukraine ribbon and told me “Thank you” in Ukrainian.

I had tears in my eyes.

I love the soul of the Ukrainian people.

(And Kyiv friends, if you see a man driving a car with “Bullet” for the license plate — that is the kind young man who did this today!)

I’m pretty sure his response was related to the Ukraine Freedom Support Act 2014.

In a blitzkrieg vote on Dec. 11, both chambers of the U.S. ​Congress ​passed a landmark bill known as the Ukraine Freedom Support Act 2014 that authorizes Kyiv defense weapons worth $350 million.

Now it’s up to the U.S. President Bara​ck Obama to enact this bill by signing​. In the next few days​, Obama will get it on his table. But if he fails to sign by the end of the year, the bill will have to go through a new cycle in the U.S. Congress.

“Now we are rallying to ask Obama to sign the bill,” said C​onstantin Kostenko one of the leaders of ​the Pass2828 campaign that was launched by the Ukrainian diaspora.​ ​The campaign asked Americans to call their representatives and ask them to support the bill.​

More.

Author: TulipGirl

Alexandra K. Bush. Six kids. INFP. Reformed & covenantal. Liberty & justice for all. Speaker. Author. Current project: Helping parents connect with teens.

Leave a Reply

